Eiichi Naito

Understanding human sensory and motor functions to improve these functions
Main Lab Location:
CiNet (Main bldg.)
Other Affiliations:
Invited Professor, Graduate School of Frontier Biosciences, Osaka University
Mailing Address:
2A6 1-4 Yamadaoka, Suita City Osaka, 565-0871

We try to deeply understand human sensory and motor functions to improve these functions, using neuroimaging techniques and behavioral approaches. Our research interests cover a wide range of topics from bodily cognition to motor control & motor learning, for example, body schema (image), bodily awareness, self-awareness, action understanding, motor intention, motor imagery, motor adaptation, motor skill and sensory-motor integration. We use techniques of MRI, EEG, TMS, tDCS and behavioral apparatuses of KINARM, PHANToM, Eyelink and so on. Using brain mapping and decoding techniques, we understand human brain mechanisms underlying sensory processing, motor control & motor learning from both anatomical and functional perspectives and to promote the understanding by constructing computational models by combining behavioral measurements. Based on the systematic understanding, we develop effective methods to improve and promote human sensory and motor functions using adequate behavioral intervention, neuromodulation and neuro-feedback techniques.

Our research targets include from children, elder people, para (blind) athletes to top athletes like Neymar. By examining their brains, we challenge to elucidate principle of plasticity at brain network level through human life by visualizing functional differentiation in developing brains, functional deterioration in aged brains, and functional specialization and compensation in top and para-athletes. These researches provide an academic base for realizing a future society in which everyone from children, elderly to challenging people can enjoy their active lives by making full use of plastic adaptability implemented in our brains.

We aim to build a translational research framework where knowledge of basic science can be seamlessly applied to real-world field of physical (sport and rehabilitative) training, which can solve various sensorimotor problems especially emerging in our super-aging society. For this purpose, we are working with graduate students of Osaka University and collaborating not only with Osaka University but also other universities and companies.

Selected Publications:

Morita T, Hirose S, Kimura N, Takemura H, Asada M and *Naito E Hyper- adaptation in the human brain: Functional and structural changes in the foot section of the primary motor cortex in a top wheelchair racing Paralympian. Frontier in Systems Neuroscience (accepted), 2022.

Naito E, Morita T, Hirose S, Kimura N, Okamoto H, Kamimukai C and Asada M Bimanual digit training improves right hand dexterity in older adults by reactivating declined ipsilateral motor-cortical inhibition. Scientific Reports 11, Article number: 22696, 2021.

Naito E, Morita T, Kimura N and Asada M Existence of interhemispheric inhibition between foot sections of human primary motor cortices: Evidence from negative blood oxygenation-level dependent signal. Brain Sciences 11, 1099. https://doi.org/10.3390/brainsci11081099, 2021.

Morita T, Asada M and Naito E Grey matter expansion of social brain networks in individuals high in public self-consciousness. Brain Sciences 11(3), 374; https://doi.org/10.3390/brainsci11030374, 2021.

Amemiya K, Naito E and Takemura H Age dependency and lateralization in the three branches of the human superior longitudinal fasciculus. Cortex, 139: 116-133, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cortex.2021.02.027, 2021.

Morita T, Asada M and Naito E Examination of the development and aging of brain deactivation using a unimanual motor task. Advanced Robotics https://doi.org/10.1080/01691864.2021.1886168, 2021.

Naito E, Morita T and Asada M Importance of the primary motor cortex in development of human hand/finger dexterity. Cerebral Cortex Communications 1: 1-12, https://doi.org/10.1093/texcom/tgaa085, 2020.

Amemiya K, Morita T, Hirose S, Ikegami T, Hirashima M and Naito E Neurological and behavioral features of locomotor
imagery in the blind. Brain Imaging and Behavior 15: 656-676, DOI: 10.1007/s11682-020-00275-w, 2020.

Morita T, Asada M and Naito E Right-hemispheric dominance in self-body recognition is altered in left-handed
individuals.Neuroscience 425: 68-89 doi: 10.1016/j.neuroscience.2019.10.056, 2020.

Announcements / News:

Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research on Innovative Areas:
FY 2019-2023 Hyper-adaptability for overcoming body-brain dysfunction: Integrated empirical and system theoretical approaches

Lab Members:

Tsuyoshi Ikegami
Jihoon Park

・Tomoya Furuta
・Gen Miura

・Keiko Ueyama