Toshio Yanagida, Center Director, Honorary Member of the Physical Society Japan

The Physical Society Japan has appointed Toshio Yanagida, Center Director, to a honorary member in their annual conference in March, 2014.

The membership is given to a member for his/her outstanding achievement and 37 were appointed from 1950 to 2013.

Makoto Kobayashi, Toshihide Masukawa and Youichiro Nambu were appointed in 2008;

11 others including Jun-ichi Nishizawa, Akito Arima, Isamu Akasaki in 2013. Toshio Yanagida was the only one in 2014.